European Housing Crisis Response Plan

Europe is in a housing crisis: people across the continent are faced with increasingly unaffordable rents, eye-watering house prices, serious supply challenges and poorly insulated rundown housing.

An estimated 125 million people are living in energy poverty and approximately 900,000 people are sleeping rough or in shelters every night. Meanwhile, private investors are making huge money from betting on our housing markets, energy companies are making unprecedented profit from the energy crisis, and neighbourhoods are being transformed into holiday rental cities. Enough is enough.

Rising rents and energy costs are not an inevitable reality. Europe has the tools and resources to make sure that everyone can have a safe, decent and affordable home. The time to act is now.

We are calling for a European Housing Crisis Response Plan and a Commissioner responsible for the right to housing, to deliver this. We have brought this call to all 27 EU housing ministers, and to the European Commission.

This plan addresses five priority areas:

Show your support and stay informed!

Sign up so we can keep you up to date of our fight for good housing for all.

This is a required field

Please choose a country

By entering your contact details, you agree to receive email updates from the Greens/EFA and the involved MEPs. You can always unsubsscribe using the link provided in emails you receive.

Submit error please try again

💚 Thank you for signing up.

Please share our action with your friends.

This European Housing Crisis Response Plan is supported by:

Ciaran Cuffe, Kim van Sparrentak, Tineke Strik, Bas Eickhout, Mounir Satouri, Kira Peter-Hansen, Rosa D'Amato, Thomas Waitz, Ignazio Corrao, Nicolae Stefanuta, Francisco Guerreiro, Sara Matthieu, Grace O'Sullivan, David Cormand, Saskia Bricmont, Marie Toussaint, Rasmus Andersen, Alexandra Geese, Jordi Solé, Diana Riba i Gener, Petros Kokkalis, Monika Vana, Michael Bloss, Jutta Paulus, Katrin Langensiepen, Francois Alfonsi, Benoît Biteau, Damien Carême, Gwendoline Delbos-Corfield, Karima Delli, Claude Gruffart, Caroline Roose, François Thiollet, Malte Gallee, Terry Reintke, Phillipe Lamberts

Greens/EFA Members of the European Parliament

📷 Photo by Ján Jakub Naništa on Unsplash